Big Bucks for Big Books?

_44403414_readinggrab_416

Kids are getting paid to read in a town in Spain. One Euro an hour of reading.  One Euro is equal to $1.47 at this moment. The mayor of this town doesn’t think kids are doing well in school, so he is now rewarding them with money if they read. Some people of this town believe the money could go to different uses, such as playgrounds to get kids more active during the day. After all, this is coming from their tax money. Do you think you should be paid to read? Would you read if you were paid?

Here are some comments we heard as we asked around the room….

"oh, no," -Bing Bong

"Hey I’ll do it," -The King 23

"No, because I hate reading," – Robocop

image borrowed from http://news.bbc.co.uk/cbbcnews/hi/newsid_7220000/newsid_7226400/7226426.stm

Super Turtle and Elmo

Love,

Download paid_to_read.mp3

Take a listen to our podcast and leave us a comment.  We would love to know what you think.

About Bill Ferriter

I'm a real-live, bona-fide, full-time practicing classroom teacher. #takeTHAT
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Big Bucks for Big Books?

  1. Fegus says:

    I would read and get the money, but not be reading for 10’s of hours to get 10 bucks, im mean sure it would be nice to get money for reading, but im not gonna read for the money, i would just read to read

  2. Elmo says:

    I would 100% like to be paid to read. In class we have to read for homework so it is basicly getting money every since day. So I think it is a very good idea.

  3. i also think that the fact that people think that they have to pay thier kids to read is sad…. what’s going to become of us in five years? ten? will they pay US to go to SCHOOL??!! it’s crazy!!! although it sounds a little out of hand, what i’m saying, it can become reality… if we give it a head start by paying kids 1 euro an hour it can lead us to turmoil..

  4. drumstick says:

    I think you should get paid for reading because it gets more kids ready and wanting to read.I also think I would do this because it would be nice and easy money while learning something.

  5. King Kong says:

    I think it is a great idea to raise money if you are saving up to buy. This might also improve test grades because you will also be paid if you study, so you could really get a good amount of money while improving your grades.

  6. The Joker says:

    I don’t think that you should get paid for reading because that would show that the only reason kids in spain read now is to get paid.
    I think that it isn’t worth it for a kid to get paid for reading since reading is close to compulsed in schools – everyone has to do it. I felt sad for those kids in Spain because if nobody reads, and then all of a sudden you get paid if you read; now everyone is reading. So that would show that kids in that city in spain need a purpose to read
    But there is one good side to it that is kind of like a bad side: It is kind of like practice for when a kid grows up and gets a job, because they work hard to get money. That is also a bad side because kids are working hard to read. Also I agree when you wrote:
    “Some people of this town believe the money could go to different uses, such as playgrounds to get kids more active during the day. After all, this is coming from their tax money.” because all that money has to come from somewhere.
    A qeustion I have is that if the teachers lowered the pay students get when they read every day until it becomes nothing, will the students grow so much towards reading that they don’t care if they get paid anymore?
    -The Joker

  7. The Warlord says:

    I’d make the mayor go broke in a few weeks. I, on average, read an hour to an hour and a half each day, and more on weekends. Though many people disagree with me when I say reading is as fun or more fun, depending on the book, than video games, look at the test score differences, all A’s to B’s and C’s. I really like to read fantasy, but I’ve read practically everything in the young adult section. Do you have any suggestions for good fantasy books for me?
    I think these series are must reads for all fantasy lovers:
    Fablehaven
    The Inheritence Trilogy
    Harry Potter
    Skybreaker
    Guardians of Ga’Hoole
    Mossflower
    Artemis Fowl
    However, the sequels only come out about once a year.
    I guess the answer to your question is yes, I would read for money. The problem with saying this is that I already read, so it’s not really reading for money. It’s reading, and getting money as a bonus. However, I believe this money could go to better purposes.
    It’s an interesting idea though, so please make another post that tells if they continue to do so.
    Signed,
    The Warlord

  8. whatchamacallit says:

    What is wrong with a little encouragement? What would you do if you were paid at least a dollar an hour for reading?

  9. Cowgirl Boots says:

    I think that it’s a great idea. I’m not sure what it’s like not to like reading because I read all the time. But maybe for other kids if they read just for money they might get into it, but have that extra motivation to read
    Cowgirl Boots

Leave a Reply

