The House on Horrible Street

180pxmangostreet Here’s a change, when you normally hear about a book review it’s always talking about how the author is a wizard that a uses beautiful words instead of spells or something of the sort. So I was thinking why not change everybody’s habits by doing a book review about a book I personally think is horrible, but please do not take this personally. I am writing about The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros.

It starts out with the sense of a poor family moving secretly around house to house maybe along the Underground Railroad. Then it comes to introduce the main character’s friends and by a lot of inferring the main character’s name. After that it comes to introduce all of these stories with no sense of emotion by stringing them together in a blanket pattern.

A lot of people think that this is a piece of literature that should be given a lot of appreciation towards Sandra Cisneros and her book.

While others such as my companion, Fegus says, “I think this book is a complete waste of time to read and it should win the Worst Book Ever Award” No offense toward you Sandra but I personally think you could do better. After hearing all of those comments on the back of your book about how you use your Hispanic writing to influence your books I thought I would be more interested in this family’s life.  This book is well liked by many educators, librarians and the like, but from my point of view this book should have been titled, The House on Horrible Street.

Leave me a comment and be sure to tell me what you think of this book…

Signed Yours Truly,
King Kong
About Bill Ferriter

I'm a real-live, bona-fide, full-time practicing classroom teacher. #takeTHAT
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The House on Horrible Street

  1. Fegus says:

    I agree with you this was probably one of the WORST books I have ever read in my entire life. The book has NO story-line and it just has random events thrown in.

  2. superturtle says:

    I have read many terrible books. But somtimes i think a book is super super boring and drop it. But i try it agian beacuse it’s just laying there looking up at you. So i read and somtimes it’s better somtimes worse.

  3. Oh wow! I couldn’t agree more! This was on my Battle Book list and it was totally terrible.
    What was your least favorite part?
    ~The Modern Typewriter
    OR
    ~The Vampire Slaying Cricket From Zambobway

  4. fruitloops23 says:

    I haven’t read this book yet. But by the descriptions “King Kong” shows it sounds horrible. Yet you can’t always depend on someone else’s writing. Maybe I’ll consider reading this book to see if its bad.

  5. My personal thought is that it is a great book.
    It is a hard book for the battle list becuase of all the events that need to be memorized. All the random events where made to make you empathize with the girl. If you follow one storyline you will not be able to through in some of the events that make the story good.
    I am always facinated by the ways that people of other races live and are treated. That is why I loved the book.
    ~The Writing Lunatic~

  6. The Warlord says:

    I completely agree that this is one of the worst books you will ever read, although Melvin the Chicken Hunter would think otherwise. It is so confusing with the switching back and forth and 70 bajillion characters. Plus, it lost us the Battle of the Books competition last year.
    I couldn’t even try to place what type of genre it is, or what point of view it is from. This book is extremely confusing, and should be required reading to show how not to be clear and concise.
    Signed,
    The Warlord

  7. whatchamacallit says:

    What this book is a bunch of junk. What you said about it being worthless is completely true to my view!
    What, however, makes it a battle book though? Waht I want you to do is to tell me why you think it is in there, because only good books make it to the battle list!

  8. whatchamacallit says:

    What makes this a battle book though if you guys say that it is so horrible?
    What do you have to say to THAT???

  9. Horsefreak302 says:

    When I read the book I first thought “How can anyone bear to read this?” and I mean no disrespect to Sandra but I agree with King Kong , some books just plain stink. Hey Whatchamacallit, FYI but we don’t choose the battle books and if it were up to me, that book would be long gone by now. I don’t belive that Sandra is fit to write for Children and young Adults and should stick to adult books.
    Signed your fellow bookworm,
    HorseFreak302

  10. bookworm says:

    I agree that it is a horrible book, yet I have never read it. This dumb book made my team lose the Battle of the Books competition within our team and made our team lose the whole competition, meaning we had to give up the “Golden Rooster of Reading” (oooh, aah). I’m absolutely positive our team would have won if it had been US battling instead of the other team. (Curse you, evil Anglophobics!!) Maybe we should’ve read it, but who wants to read a book that others describe as “a complete waste of time” or “one of the worst books you will ever read”? I don’t know, maybe I’ll give it a try. But for now, I have better things to read than the “House on Horrible Street.”
    Bookworm
    P.S. Good post, King Kong. I hardly ever see book reviews on the Blurb.

Leave a Reply

