Book Review: Snakehead

Dscn0015_eHow many of you have heard of the Alex Rider Series? Well anyways,it is by far my favorite set of books. Sometime ago there was a book added to the series. It is the immediate sequel to Ark Angel, in which Alex Rider is sent on a mission that eventually leads to him going to space.

MI6 aren’t the only people that Alex works for. He has worked for the CIA twice before, and in this book he is used by Australian Intelligence. They probably wouldn’t of been able to use him… but they have a trick up their sleeve.

If you are a fan of the Alex Rider series, or at least read the two most recent books, you would probably know about Alex’s parents.

They were on a plane ride.

They were bombed.

They are dead.

But the question that remains is, who planted the bomb? Is it a new villain that is brought to you in this book? Or… maybe an old rival?

"Fasten your seat belts."

           -Kirkus Reviews.

"Will bring readers to the edge of their seats and keep them there until the final page."

           -School Library Journal

"Addicting and fun."

            -The Denver Post

"A nonstop thriller!"

             -Kidsday

I thank Flying Onion Boy for letting me know me that there is a new Alex Rider book out. Then… I take the thanks back because he spoiled the ending for me!

Signed,

    The Wicked Awesome Monkey Dude

(Image Credit:  Untitled by Miguelwhee, licensed Creative Commons:  Attribution)

About Bill Ferriter

I'm a real-live, bona-fide, full-time practicing classroom teacher. #takeTHAT
This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Review: Snakehead

  1. whatchamacallit says:

    What I think of the Alex Rider series is that they are great! What they should do is have Herod Sayle still alive, because he killed Alex’s uncle.
    What I also ask is, is Snakehead going to be another criminal organization like Scorpia, the book I am currently reading?

  2. The Warlord says:

    Cool review, I’ve read the series, and it is pretty good. My only problem with the series is that it takes forever for Anthony Horowitz to write a new book what with juggling all the different series he writes. I would have to say my favorite book in the series is Eagle Strike. I would say my favorite series is the Redwall series by Brian Jacques.
    On a different note, could you please make a post explaining to the viewers about my challenge? The official challange starts once you create an explanatory post.
    Signed,
    The Warlord

  3. Mr. Brune says:

    Hey, Blurbers!
    I have no other thoughts about the Alex Rider series other than that I agree they are great books. It’s like you’re watching a movie in your mind when you read them.
    What I’d really like to say is that I noticed one of my student’s thinking has changed recently in large part, I believe, to you all.
    “York” in my class posted this awhile back (note some of your comments at the end):
    http://classblogmeister.com/blog.php?blog_id=504327&mode=comment&blogger_id=120873#comments
    Recently she published this:
    http://classblogmeister.com/blog.php?blogger_id=120873&user_id=120873&blog_id=610188&position2=0
    Notice the change n her thinking thanks, I think, all to you Blurbers.
    Keep up the great work!
    Bye!

  4. Fegus says:

    I personally think these books are terrible. The plot is just so unreal. I know books dont have to be realistic but living trough a shot to the heart, two bomb explosions. The other bad and confusing part is the whole family… his uncle is on the good side, his dad on the bad side, but really on the good side and was told he died in a car accedint, the bad guys liking his dad… WHAT!?
    I was looking foward for the snakehead book and read it the day it came out but after that i burnt it…seriously. Looking forward for more posts
    Thanks
    Fegus

  5. Hannah says:

    Whoa, I must have missed a few books in this series… Need to get back on track!

  6. Hey Hannah, I made the same mistake. It was the first time our class went to the school library together. I just grabbed Scorpia because it sounded cool.
    Then I found out it was a series. I just went back and started from the beggining.
    Read the book, it’s wicked sweet!!!
    The Wicked Awesome Monkey Dude

  7. major breakdown says:

    dudes this series rocks i had no idea ther was a 7th book util my librarian told me i just have to say i hope Anthony Horowitz keeps makin alex rider books
    P.S. all the spelling mistakes r on purpose

Leave a Reply

