Are Kids Vermin?

In the UK, a commercial will be coming out on November 24, stating kids are like animals. In their commercial they are saying people think kids are horrible and are a nuisance. They took a survey and 54% of the adults say kids are starting to act like animals in the UK.

Hunter_de_Rat

They asked if people agreed or disagreed with the statements. Only 49% disagreed and others said that kids who get into trouble needed professional help. 43% said that something needed to be done to protect adults from the kids.

There were only 2021 people that were part of the survey. Half of the adults said that kids are getting to be a danger to others.  YouGov was responsible for the interviews in this project. Everything in the commercial was based on the survey and that tells the attitude of the people towards kids.

The commercial shows "vermin" or kids being hunted by adults. It seems very frightening to watch. Some quotes about kids from the people in the survey were "ruthless","cruel", and "they wonder in packs". The people may be trying to tell us over the years kids have been getting more and more misbehaved.  There may be many reasons for people saying so.  For example, parents and adults have been working more and have not been having the time to spend with their kids. So there must be a negative point of view from the people of the survey in UK.

What about the rest of the world?

Are the majority of adults convinced that kids are becoming worse over time? 

Leave us a comment to share your thinking and join us again soon on The Blurb!

Signed,

Sailormoon 14

(Image Credit:  Hunter De Rat by hsdevries, licesened Creative Commons:  Attribution) 

About Bill Ferriter

I'm a real-live, bona-fide, full-time practicing classroom teacher. #takeTHAT
This entry was posted in Current Arguments. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Are Kids Vermin?

  1. Lucy (dancer96) says:

    WOW!!! That is crazy. I cant believe they think that kids are like little rats or something! Well, the only person I know who thinks that is my dad and Mr. F…..
    I think that you guys are doing really well, but you will NEVER have the skill of the 2007-2008 blurbers. Good luck,anyway!!!
    Dancer96

  2. Mr. F says:

    Hey Lucy!
    Good to see you stop by the Blurb!
    I hope you know how much I miss having you around. You were one of the all time greatest kids I’ve ever met!
    Tell Mr. G (your principal) that I said hello….He’s a good friend of mine!
    Be well,
    Mr. F

  3. FOB says:

    What is this, the throwback post? I mean, it’s good to catch up on good ol’ times, but me and lucy should be focusing on more important matters, where Bam Bam isn’t really effected by this, by you being an adult (At least appearing like one….just kidding Mr. F.(:..)
    Back to the actual article, that is absolutely ridiculous, that they are making the comparison between children and animals. Well, here is a specific list of differences between them:
    1. Well, Uhhh, hmmmm….
    There isn’t actually many differences between them, if you think about it. Their minds, like ours, are based on a system of logic and hypothesis, and you can name other animals that are very different, like ones with exoskeletons, ones with multiple legs, but inside we are all the same……mostly. Of course humans have more complex and diverse attributes, compared to for example, apes. All apes look the same, but not many humans look the same. Also humans have a system of 23 pairs of chromosomes, where apes have a system of 24 pairs. Similar, but still different.
    Good and abnormal post.
    Bye

  4. Tyler Jade says:

    “The people may be trying to tell us over the years kids have been getting more and more misbehaved.” “In the UK, a commercial will be coming out on November 24, stating kids are like animals. In their commercial they are saying people think kids are horrible and are a nuisance. They took a survey and 54% of the adults say kids are starting to act like animals in the UK.”
    Well personally I think that this whole thing is nothing but an opinion And then again, this is in UK but still, when people are talking about kids are like vermin’s, me as a kid i take that offensive.

  5. Chad says:

    kids are misbehaving more and more each year. We need to start disciplining kids more than we are or else kids will slap parents for no reason at all. I know it’s an opinion, but it could be true.

  6. Daniel says:

    I’d like to know if they think this offends us in any way because it is like saying that you’re gross, or something. I don’t like the adults in the U.K. because they think that everyone is like that in the world. If I were an adult in the U.K., I would think back to when I was a kid and think of all the bad things I have done in my past and compare it to the things that their doing. I’m sure they are not that bad.

  7. The Europeans have always said interesting things, but this… this really grabbed my attention. I really think that this is a stunning idea coming from Europe especially. I think that the Euro-adults are trying to tag something on their kids. I mean yeah kids do sometimes cutup but not enough for their parents to call them animals. I bother my mom all the time, but she never calls me anything. This is ridicule to European kids.

  8. Janice says:

    “Half of the adults said that kids are getting to be a danger to others.” “The people may be trying to tell us over the years kids have been getting more and more misbehaved.”
    I think that adults shouldn’t say that kids are vermin because adults are misbehaved too. Most people in poverty participate in drug trafficking, crime, and violence because they need money to live and the only way that they can get more money to survive is through these methods. I think that some kids are getting more violent not just because of poverty, but also because of peer pressure and violence that they learn- from the television or the people around them. Also, that’s not very nice to say that rats are like misbehaved children because they are not; animals don’t deserve to be treated badly like that.

  9. The Europeans have always said interesting things, but this… this really grabbed my attention. I really think that this is a stunning idea coming from Europe especially. I think that the Euro-adults are trying to tag something on their kids. I mean yeah kids do some pretty strange things and cutup sometimes, but not enough for their parents to call them animals. I bother my mom all the time, but she never calls me anything. This is ridicule to European kids. I think that the ad should not be shown on European T.V.

  10. Nikki says:

    I disagree that kids are vermin, I actually believe that maybe not everyone completely understands them. Perhaps they behave the way they do simply because that they might need more trust, and for people to believe them more. Parents probably need to spend more time with their kids, and that just might make things a little better for everyone. They need an oppertunity to have a little more socail events going on in their lives so that they won’t have to turn to violence.

  11. Anonymous says:

    I disagree, because kids are very misunderstood about multiple things. They just want to be left alone but adults invade our area and we act like an animal wanting them to remain off their territory, or their room. I thought that Europeans said strange things but this tops them all. My parents never insult me, but I annoy them and my sister all the time. This would upset a lot of European kids if this was shown on T.V.

  12. Anonymous Bob says:

    If adults say that kids are vermin, then I say that those adults are being stereotypical.
    Immediately after reading this article, I connected it to the lessons I learned in language arts. In class, we learned about how Jews suffered from stereotyping during the Holocaust. Germans categorized all Jewish people as bad and as something we should get rid of. Even though, kids in the UK are not being put in ghettos or labor camps, I think this is still a good example of how people tend to make oversimplified generalizations of one group that are not necessarily true. Just because some kids “behave like animals” there is no need to make a commercial calling kids vermin, feral, cruel and ruthless. That just seems plain rude and uncalled for. Also, the commercial seems to blame a lot crime on children. This also reminded me of the Jews during WWII because they were made scapegoats, blamed for Germany’s loss in WWI.
    I understand that, maybe, kids as a whole are not as well-mannered as past generations. However, I would like to point out that children are as only well-mannered as you train them to be. If you are calling attention to the fact that some kids cause trouble and deserve discipline, I fully support you. The UK makes a good point, in the fact that, there has been a growing number teen crimes, but adults should definitely have some respect. Raise awareness that children’s behavior is getting worse, without acting like a child, just leave out the guns and name calling.
    It’s been a while,
    Anonymous Bob
    Let me say that this post shows many of the qualities of a good blog post. It’s the headline drew me in, the writing is persuasive and believable, and struck lots of emotion. Keep up the good work!
    (look at http://tinyurl.com/5rm8lf for more inspiration)

  13. Dancer16 says:

    I think that it is sad that people in Europe think all kids are vermin. This comment on us, kids, makes me feel a little ashamed of what our first impression is. This may be a current event, but it is still only peoples opinions.

Leave a Reply

