Immigrant Children

Immigrants are trying to get into Italy and other countries off
the coast of the Mediterranean Sea.
  Below is a poem of how a girl from Africa feels on the way to Italy


Salty clear drops

Run down my face

Mixing with sand

That is all over the place

 

There is no where to sit

Must stand for days

No food for hours

Not one of my lucky days

 

The wood rocks under my feet

Bracing myself for a terrible defeat

A long way to stand on this smelly boat

But I still have hope

 

As a child of eleven

All I want

Is a better life

For my friends and me

 

All I must go through

My life at stake

There is no way to know

If I will see land again

 

Hope is with us all

An adventure awaits

I will make it

To a better place


African-immigrants_998807c 

     Every
one wants a better life at some point.
  Even though we all want one, I think she needs it more than
you and me.
  Do you need a better
life?
  Before you answer are you
willing to risk your life for it?
 
Well risking your life is a lot, but those immigrants are doing it, and are getting no where close to what you and me have already.  But a little to us, it is a lot to them.  So now answer. Do you think you need a better life?


Signed 

Sam

 

About Bill Ferriter

I'm a real-live, bona-fide, full-time practicing classroom teacher. #takeTHAT
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

